Can AFC Cup winner play AFC Champions League?

Can AFC Cup winner play AFC Champions League?

The winners of the tournament will automatically qualify for the 2022 AFC Champions League, entering the qualifying play-offs, if they have not qualified through their domestic performance. The winners of the 2021 AFC Champions League will also qualify for the 2021 FIFA Club World Cup.

How do teams qualify for AFC Cup?

Excluding the top five associations in each region for AFC Champions League slot allocation, all other associations are eligible to enter the AFC Cup. The teams from associations ranked 6th, 11th and 12th which are eliminated in the AFC Champions League qualifying play-offs enter the AFC Cup group stage (Article 3.2).

Which team won the AFC Challenge Cup in 2008?

2008 AFC Challenge Cup

Tournament details
Champions India (1st title)
Runners-up Tajikistan
Third place North Korea
Fourth place Myanmar

How many teams are in the AFC Cup?

36group stage
AFC Cup/Number of teams

What happens to AFC Cup winner?

The AFC Cup is an annual continental club football competition organised by the AFC. Since 2021 season the team who become AFC Cup champions are granted to participate in the AFC Champions League qualifying playoffs should they not qualify through domestic performance.

Which team has won the most AFC Champions League?

List of Asian Club Championship and AFC Champions League finals

Champions League trophy
Founded 1967
Number of teams 40 (group stage) 2 (finalists)
Current champions Ulsan Hyundai (2nd title)
Most successful club(s) Al-Hilal Pohang Steelers (3 titles each)

Is AFC Cup held every year?

After 2004, the tournament was next held in 2007 when it was co-hosted by four nations: Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam. Thereafter, it has been held every four years. The Asian Cup has generally been dominated by a small number of top teams.

What does AFC stand for in football?

American Football Conference
The American Football Conference (AFC) is one of the two conferences of the National Football League (NFL), the highest professional level of American football in the United States. This conference currently contains 16 teams organized into 4 divisions, as does its counterpart, the National Football Conference (NFC).

How many teams will qualify from Asia to World Cup 2022?

2022 FIFA World Cup qualification (AFC)

Tournament details
Dates 6 June 2019 – June 2022
Teams 46 (from 1 confederation)
Tournament statistics
Matches played 180

Which team won most Asia Cup football?

Japan national football team
2011 AFC Asian Cup/Champion

What is the best club in Asia?

Updated after matches played on 5 September 2021

Rank Club / Country Points
1 Kawasaki Frontale Japan 1692
2 Persepolis Iran 1631
3 Al Hilal Saudi Arabia 1629
4 Jeonbuk FC South Korea 1620

Who are the winners of the AFC Challenge Cup?

An amendment to men’s national team competitions in July 2006, meant that starting with the 2008 and 2010 editions of the AFC Challenge Cup, the winners automatically qualify for the AFC Asian Cup. In the 2011 and 2015 AFC Asian Cup tournaments, two qualification spots have been allocated to the two most recent AFC Challenge Cup winners.

Who are the hosts of the AFC Asian Cup?

The winner, Palestine, qualified to the 2015 AFC Asian Cup. The AFC decided that an automatic qualification place will be given to the tournament’s hosts starting from this edition. Four countries then expressed interest in bidding to host the tournament; India, Maldives, Philippines, and Tajikistan.

When did North Korea join the AFC Challenge Cup?

In late March 2012, the Northern Mariana Islands Football Association, although only an associate member of the AFC, was approved by the AFC to enter their national team in the competition. In November 2012, the AFC announced North Korea’s exclusion from future AFC Challenge Cups.