How do I get my professional teaching certificate in WV?

How do I get my professional teaching certificate in WV?

West Virginia Teacher Education Requirements West Virginia teacher certification candidates must earn a bachelor’s degree through a regionally accredited academic institution and complete a state-approved educator preparation program and be recommended for certification through that program.

Can you get certified to teach without a degree in education?

It is still possible to become a teacher without a bachelor’s degree in education by going through an accredited teacher certification program. Through the certification process, you will take classes that will provide you with an appropriate segue into a teaching job.

How do I renew my teaching license in WV?

Teachers use online professional development and continuing education courses to renew a professional certificate in WV. All licenses and certifications expire on June 30 of the last year of validity. The application for renewal must be submitted after January 1 of the year in which the license expires.

Can you become a teacher in WV without a degree?

Jim Justice signed into law Wednesday legislation allowing people without education degrees to become public school teachers even if whatever degree they do have isn’t related to the subject area they plan to teach in.

How do I get Eccat certified?

The applicant for licensure must submit evidence of completing the following criteria: complete a minimum of three semester hours of unduplicated coursework, approved by the WVDE, in the areas of early childhood special education, child development, and early childhood language and literacy; or begin a new position as …

How much do substitute teachers make WV?

Substitute Teacher Salary in West Virginia

Annual Salary Hourly Wage
Top Earners $37,188 $18
75th Percentile $30,036 $14
Average $25,291 $12
25th Percentile $21,454 $10

What states accept WV teaching license?

The following are member states of the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement who have signed reciprocity agreements with West Virginia….West Virginia Teacher Reciprocity Agreements.

Alabama California
Indiana Louisiana
Nevada New Mexico
South Carolina Texas

What do WV Teachers Make?

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), teachers in West Virginia are among the lowest paid in the country. Recent figures from the BLS estimate that the average annual income for a high school teacher in West Virginia is $45,240. In other parts of the country, teachers can make close to six figures.

What is a WV teaching certificate?

West Virginia uses a tiered system of teacher licensure. First-time teachers who complete all licensure requirements are issued an Initial Professional Teaching Certificate. After completing an induction program and continuing education in public school subjects, teachers may receive a Professional Five-Year Teaching Certificate.

What are the best schools in Virginia?

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University(Virginia Tech) and University of Virginia, the state’s land-grant universities, are two of the top-ranked public colleges in Virginia earning a spot on US News & World Report’s list of Best Colleges.

What are the state schools in Virginia?

If you prefer living near a large city, there are many schools in Virginia that are located near some of Virginia’s largest cities. ECPI University (Virginia Beach) Hampton University (Hampton) Old Dominion University (Norfolk) Virginia Commonwealth University (Richmond) Tidewater Community College (Norfolk)