Is COMESA a free trade area?

Is COMESA a free trade area?

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) is the largest regional economic organization in Africa, with 19 member states and a population of about 390 million. COMESA has a free trade area, with 19 member states, and launched a customs union in 2009.

When did DRC join COMESA?

In 2008, COMESA agreed to an expanded free-trade zone including members of two other African trade blocs, the East African Community (EAC) and the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC)….Current members.

Country Joined
Central Africa
Democratic Republic of the Congo 21 Dec 1981

How was COMESA formed?

COMESA was initially established in 1981 as the Preferential Trade Area for Eastern and Southern Africa (PTA), within the framework of the Organization of African Unity’s (OAU) Lagos Plan of Action and the Final Act of Lagos. The PTA transformed into COMESA in 1994.

Why is COMESA called a common market?

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) comprises 21 African Member States that came together with the aim of promoting regional integration through trade and the development of natural and human resources for the mutual benefit of all people in the region.

What are the weaknesses of COMESA?

was actively discouraged, resulting in insufficient levels of investment taking place in both capital and labour and in low levels of technology transfer; and a lack of complementarity between domestic industries.

What is a free trade country?

A free trade area is a group of countries that have few or no barriers to trade in the form of tariffs or quotas between each other. Free trade areas tend to increase the volume of international trade among member countries and allow them to increase their specialization in their respective comparative advantages.

Is Somalia a member of COMESA?

COMESA now has 21 member states – Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Swaziland, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Is South Africa part of COMESA?

COMESA is the largest regional economic community in Africa. South Africa is not a member of COMESA, having opted for membership of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

What are the disadvantages of COMESA?

How does COMESA operate?

COMESA (as defined by its Treaty) was established ‘as an organisation of free independent sovereign states which have agreed to co-operate in developing their natural and human resources for the good of all their people’ and as such it has a wide-ranging series of objectives which necessarily include in its priorities …

What is the function of COMESA?

What is the main problem facing Comesa?

Although services trade has been increasing in COMESA, key challenges to future expansion include poor infrastructure, unfavourable business environment, limited technology, lack of skilled professionals, and low domestic demand in some countries (UNCTAD, 2015).