Most popular

What are the 9 quadrants of the abdomen?

What are the 9 quadrants of the abdomen?

Surface anatomy

  • epigastric region (epigastrium)
  • left hypochondrium (LHC)
  • left lumbar region (left flank)
  • left iliac fossa (LIF)
  • suprapubic (hypogastric) region.
  • right iliac fossa (RIF)
  • right lumbar region (right flank)
  • right hypochondrium (RHC)

What are 9 abdominal regions?

These planes divide the abdomen into nine regions:

  • Right hypochondriac.
  • Right lumbar (or flank)
  • Right illiac.
  • Epigastric.
  • Umbilical.
  • Hypogastric (or pubic)
  • Left hypochondriac.
  • Left lumbar (or flank)

What organs are in the 4 abdominal quadrants?

The organs in each quadrant include:

  • RUQ: Liver, Gallbladder, Pancreas, Stomach, Small Intestine, Large Intestine, Right Kidney, Right Adrenal Gland.
  • LUQ: Spleen, Stomach, Pancreas, Liver, Large Intestine, Small intestine, Left Kidney, Left Adrenal Gland.

What are the 6 regions of the abdomen?

Region 1: Right Hypochondriac Region (upper, right)

  • Region 2: Epigastric Region (upper, middle)
  • Region 3: Left Hypochondriac Region (upper, left)
  • Region 4: Right Lumbar Region (middle, right)
  • Region 5: Umbilical Region (center)
  • Region 6: Left Lumbar Region (middle, left)
  • Region 7: Right Iliac Fossa (lower, right)
  • Why is the abdomen divided into regions?

    The human abdomen is divided into quadrants and regions by anatomists and physicians for the purposes of study, diagnosis, and treatment. The division into four quadrants allows the localisation of pain and tenderness, scars, lumps, and other items of interest, narrowing in on which organs and tissues may be involved.

    How many regions are in the abdomen?

    The anatomy of the regions and planes of the abdomen is composed of many layers with varying blood supply and innervation. The abdomen has been bisected, trisected, and even divided into as many as 9 separate regions.

    What are the abdominal regions of the body?

    Abdominal Four Quadrants

    • Right Upper Quadrant.
    • Left Upper Quadrant.
    • Right Lower Quadrant.
    • Left Lower Quadrant.
    • Right Hypochondriac.
    • Left Hypochondriac.
    • Epigastric.
    • Right Lumbar.

    What structures delineate the abdominal surface regions?

    The transtubercular plane (also called the transtubercular line) is one of the surface reference lines used in surface anatomy to delineate the abdominal regions. It is a horizontal or transverse plane that passes through the iliac tubercles, small elevations found in the iliac crest of the iliac bone.

    What is the abdominal region below the stomach?

    The epigastric area, where epigastric means above the stomach. The hypogastric, or below the stomach, region. The umbilical region, with umbilical referring to the navel.

    Which organs are in each abdominal region?

    The abdomen contains many vital organs: the stomach, the small intestine (jejunum and ileum), the large intestine (colon), the liver, the spleen, the gallbladder, the pancreas, the uterus, the fallopian tubes, the ovaries, the kidneys, the ureters, the bladder, and many blood vessels (arteries and veins).

    What are the names and locations of abdominal regions?

    These regions are broken into three areas: the upper, middle, and lower abdomen. In the upper abdomen, the right hypochondriac, epigastric, and left hypochondriac regions reside. In the middle abdomen are the right lumbar, umbilical, and left lumbar regions.

    What are the four regions of the abdomen?

    What are abdominal pelvic regions?

    The pelvic region refers to the lowermost portion of the abdomen, below the level of the umbilicus, and most often in the lowermost portions of the abdomen, on the sides and centrally.

    What organs are found in each quadrant?

    Here are some of the major organs that you’ll find in each of the four abdominal quadrants: Right Upper Quadrant: Liver, stomach, gallbladder, duodenum, right kidney, pancreas, and the right adrenal gland. Left Upper Quadrant: Liver, stomach, pancreas, left kidney, spleen, and the left adrenal gland.

    What are the four regions of the body?

    Physicians and anatomists divide the human abdomen into four different regions or quadrants. The quadrants are: the left lower quadrant, the right lower quadrant, the left upper quadrant, and the right upper quadrant.

    What are organs in the abdominopelvic region?

    The abdominopelvic cavity is a body cavity that consists of the abdominal cavity and the pelvic cavity. It contains the stomach, liver, pancreas, spleen, gallbladder, kidneys, and most of the small and large intestines. It also contains the urinary bladder and internal reproductive organs.