What are the major branches of Islam?

What are the major branches of Islam?

Though the two main sects within Islam, Sunni and Shia, agree on most of the fundamental beliefs and practices of Islam, a bitter split between the two goes back some 14 centuries.

How many Islamic denominations are there?

Historically, Islam was divided into three major sects well known as Sunni, Khawarij and Shī’ah. Nowadays, Sunnis constitute about 90% of the overall Muslim population while the Shi’as are around 10%.

What are the 3 main sects of Islam?

As with all other world religions, Islam is represented by several major branches: Sunni, Shi’a, Ibadi, Ahmadiyya, and Sufism.

What are the 2 sects of Islam?

A disagreement over succession after Mohammed’s death in 632 split Muslims into Islam’s two main sects, Sunni and Shia.

What are the 6 key beliefs of Islam?

Muslims have six main beliefs.

  • Belief in Allah as the one and only God.
  • Belief in angels.
  • Belief in the holy books.
  • Belief in the Prophets… e.g. Adam, Ibrahim (Abraham), Musa (Moses), Dawud (David), Isa (Jesus).
  • Belief in the Day of Judgement…
  • Belief in Predestination…

What are the two major branches of the Islamic religion?

There are two main branches in Islam: Sunni and Shi’a. A split occurred shortly after the death of Muhammad over the question of who was to lead the Muslims. The Shi’a believed that Muhammad pre-selected Imam Ali , his cousin and son-in-law.

What is the traditional branch of Islam?

There are two major branches of Islam. Most Muslims belong to the Sunni branch. They are called Sunnis. Sunnis are known as traditional Muslims. They follow the sayings of Muhammad and emphasize community.

What are the major denominations of Islam?

Islam : Denominations of Islam. There are a number of Islamic religious denominations, each of which has significant theological and legal differences from each other. The major branches are Sunni, Shi’a and Sufi.

What are the religious sects of Islam?

Just the facts on religion. In Islam, there are two main sects: Sunni and Shi’a. Sunni Islam is the largest sect, although in some countries it is a minority. Sunnis have their historical roots in the majority group who followed Abu Bakr , an effective leader, as the successor of Muhammad, instead of his cousin and son-in-law Ali.