What awards are given out on Australia Day?

What awards are given out on Australia Day?

What are the Australia Day honours?

  • Australian Bravery Decorations.
  • the National Emergency Medal.
  • Meritorious Service Awards.
  • Distinguished Service Decorations.
  • Conspicuous Service Decorations.
  • Gallantry Decorations; and.
  • Operational and Service Awards.

What is the highest Australia Day award?

The Medal of the Order of Australia
In the Australian honours system appointments to the Order of Australia confer the highest recognition for outstanding achievement and service. The Medal of the Order of Australia is awarded for service worthy of particular recognition. The Order of Australia has four levels: Companion of the Order (AC)

Who is responsible for the Australia Day awards?

Prior to 1975 Australians were recognised under the British honours system, also known as Imperial awards. The Queen is the Sovereign Head of the Order of Australia and the Governor-General as Chancellor is charged with the administration of the Order.

Who presented Australia Day Awards 2021?

David Hurley
The Australia Day Honours 2021 are appointments to various orders and honours to recognise and reward good works by Australian citizens. The list was announced on 26 January 2021 by the Governor General of Australia, David Hurley.

How are Honours decided?

Honours are decided and announced by the Cabinet Office twice a year: at New Year and on The Queen’s official birthday in June. They are then presented to recipients by members of the Royal Family throughout the year at ceremonies known as ‘Investitures’.

Who selects Australian of the Year?

The National Australia Day Council Board
The National Australia Day Council Board selects the Australians of the Year from the group of 32 State and Territory recipients. The prestigious year-round program culminates in the announcement of the national Award recipients in Canberra on Australia Day Eve.

Who decides Honours list?

What is Australia’s highest civilian Honour?

The Cross of Valour
The Cross of Valour is awarded only for acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril. It is the highest Australian Bravery Decoration and the highest civilian bravery award in Australia. Recipients of this award can use the post nominal CV.

What is the Order of Queen’s Honours?

Ranks in the Order are Knight or Dame Grand Cross (GBE), Knight or Dame Commander (KBE or DBE), Commander (CBE), Officer (OBE) and Member (MBE).