Helpful tips

What does the KY CCDW class consist of?

What does the KY CCDW class consist of?

The state Department of Criminal Justice Training supplies all CCDW classroom materials, which includes two videos and a half-inch-thick manual. The course consists of about six hours of classroom instruction and an hour or two at the range.

How long does it take to get your CCDW in KY?

After either method of application is made to the KSP CCDW Permit Office; a background check is conducted, which will take approximately three to six weeks. Upon completion of the background, the applicant will receive a notification advising them of a date when their permit will be available at their sheriff’s office.

What states do not recognize Kentucky CCDW?

States that DO NOT recognize Kentucky resident Concealed Pistol License:

  • California.
  • Connecticut.
  • Hawaii.
  • Illinois.
  • Maine.
  • Maryland.
  • Massachusetts.
  • Nevada.

Can you conceal carry in Ky without a permit?

Kentucky is now a permitless carry state so concealed carry is legal for anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm without a license/permit. Those wanting to conceal carry out-of-state will still need to get a conceal carry license.

Do you have to have a license to carry a gun in KY?

In 2019, Kentucky repealed its requirement that people obtain a license and background check to carry concealed firearms in public. Kentucky now authorizes any person 21 years of age or older who is eligible to possess a firearm to carry a concealed deadly weapon in public.

Who Cannot own a gun in Kentucky?

Kentucky has no laws specifically preventing the purchase or possession of firearms by: People convicted of violent misdemeanors; People subject to mental health-related court orders; Persons subject to domestic violence restraining orders; or.

What states honor Ky concealed carry?

Below is a list of states that honor Kentucky’s concealed carry permits, according to the state police.

  • Alabama.
  • Alaska.
  • Arizona.
  • Arkansas.
  • Colorado.
  • Delaware.
  • Florida.
  • Georgia.

Can you open carry in Walmart in Kentucky?

Walmart announced last week that they no longer welcome customers who engage in “open carry” — carrying a gun, in public, for everyone to see.

Can an 18 year old open carry a pistol in Kentucky?

You can open carry in Kentucky as long as you are eighteen years old or more. However, there are location restrictions for open carry and possession of firearms in general. Except you are a law officer, on no account should you be with your firearms in restricted places.

Can you carry a gun in your glove box in KY?

Kentucky’s concealed weapons law allows someone to carry a gun in the car, either in the glove compartment “regularly installed in a motor vehicle by its manufacturer,” on the seat or in the trunk.

Can a felon get gun rights back in Kentucky?

If you obtain a pardon for your conviction by the Kentucky Governor or President of the United States, your firearm rights may be restored. This is because the State vacates and removes the conviction of a felony before subsequently expunging and destroying the records of the offense.

Can my wife have a gun if I am a felon?

Just because you have a felony record does not preclude your wife from owning a firearm. As a felon, you could not own or possess such a weapon. If you live together, and your wife wanted to have the weapon in your home, it would require her to keep the weapon out of your possession and control.