What is a test plan and what does it include?

What is a test plan and what does it include?

A Test Plan refers to a detailed document that catalogs the test strategy, objectives, schedule, estimations, deadlines, and the resources required for completing that particular project. Think of it as a blueprint for running the tests needed to ensure the software is working properly – controlled by test managers.

How do I create a test plan in Jira?

Test Plans panel

  1. Go to Jira Administration > Add-ons (or Apps) > TestFLO > Panel Filter Result and click Add Panel.
  2. Set Panel title: Test Plans.
  3. Select Project: the project with Master Test Plan issue type.
  4. Set Issue Type: Master Test Plan.
  5. Set JQL: issuetype = “Test Plan”

What should you cover in an information technology system testing plan?

System Test Plan covers the following points:

  • Purpose & Objective is defined for this test.
  • Scope (Features to be tested, Features not to be tested are listed).
  • Test Acceptance Criteria (Criteria on which the system will be accepted i.e. mentioned points in acceptance criteria should be in the pass state).

Who will prepare test plan?

The Test Plan document is usually prepared by the Test Lead or Test Manager and the focus of the document is to describe what to test, how to test, when to test and who will do what test.

Is JIRA a testing tool?

JIRA is a software testing tool developed by the Australian Company Atlassian. It is a bug tracking tool that reports all the issues related to your software or mobile apps. The word JIRA comes from the Japanese word, i.e., “Gojira” which means Godzilla.

What is Q Test Tool?

qTest is a test management tool used for Project Management, Bug Tracking, and Test Management. It follows the centralized test management concept that helps to communicate easily and assists in rapid development of task across QA team and other stakeholders. qTest is a cloud based tool and was developed by QASymphony.

What are the steps of system testing?

System Testing is performed in the following steps:

  • Test Environment Setup: Create testing environment for the better quality testing.
  • Create Test Case: Generate test case for the testing process.
  • Create Test Data:
  • Execute Test Case:
  • Defect Reporting:
  • Regression Testing:
  • Log Defects:
  • Retest:

What are different levels of testing?

There are generally four recognized levels of testing: unit/component testing, integration testing, system testing, and acceptance testing. Tests are frequently grouped by where they are added in the software development process, or by the level of specificity of the test.