What is considered an exempt employee in Colorado?

What is considered an exempt employee in Colorado?

Colorado Exempt Employees: What you need to know (CO Admin. Code Tit. In order to be exempt, an employee must meet the salary and duties requirements. Effective January 1, 2021, the salary threshold for overtime exemption is $40,500, then will increase to $45,000 in 2022, to $50,000 in 2023, and to $55,000 in 2024.

How many hours a week does an exempt employee work?

An exempt salaried employee is typically expected to work between 40 and 50 hours per week, although some employers expect as few or as many hours of work it takes to perform the job well.

Can an employer make you work 7 days a week in Colorado?

Colorado overtime laws state that an employer must firmly establish the workweek, which is defined as a period of 168 hours (or seven consecutive 24-hour days), and an employer may not average multiple workweeks together in order to pay employees less or no overtime.

What is a work week in Colorado?

A workweek is defined as any consecutive seven-day period starting with the same calendar day and hour each week. A workweek is a fixed and recurring period of 168 hours, seven consecutive twenty-four hour periods, and is typically established by the employer.

What are the rules for exempt employees?

Although some employers require exempt employees to track their hours worked, many do not. An exempt employee is not paid overtime wages for hours worked over 40 in a workweek. To be considered exempt from FLSA, an employee must be paid on a salary basis, and must have exempt job duties.

What is the minimum salary for exempt employees in Colorado 2021?

$40,500 annually
Additionally, Colorado passed a new law designating minimum salary requirements. Effective January 1, 2021, an exempt salaried individual may not make less than $40,500 annually. This is up from the $35,568 minimum of 2020, with planned increases every year until $55,000 is reached in 2024.

How many hours a day must an exempt employee work?

The FLSA does not require employers to pay the federal minimum wage to salaried employees in exempt categories. It also does not set any minimum number of hours for salaried employees. Under the FLSA’s exempt employee rules, exempt employees are not eligible for overtime pay after working 40 hours per week.

Can an employer make you work 9 days straight?

Section 552 goes on to state that no employer may require employees to work more than six days out of a seven-day period, and any employer that tries to enforce a seven-day workweek may be guilty of a misdemeanor.

Does Colorado require lunch breaks?

Under Colorado law, certain employers must give employees a 30-minute meal break once the employee has worked five hours. Meal breaks are unpaid, as long as the employee has an uninterrupted, duty-free meal break. This means the employee can’t be required to do any work or to wait around for work that might pop up.

How many hours are full time in Colorado?

32 hours
Full Time Employee: for the purpose of the exemption described in section 5(b) of this wage order, a full time employee is one who performs work for the benefit of an employer for a minimum of 32 hours per work week.

How many hours a day does an exempt employee have to work?

As a result of the FLSA, the commonly used five-day workweek usually translates to eight hours per day for most salaried employees.