What is the pathophysiology of chronic hepatitis?

What is the pathophysiology of chronic hepatitis?

Chronic HBV infection results mostly from vertical transmission from mother to neonate. HBV-infected neonates and children typically experience an immunotolerant phase with normal alanine aminotransferase levels despite high levels of circulating HBV DNA and HBe antigen, the secreted form of the HBV core antigen.

How does HCV become chronic?

After six months 70% to 85% of those infected will have failed to clear the virus spontaneously. After this period the hepatitis C virus enters what is known as the ‘chronic phase’. This is when hepatitis C becomes a chronic or long-term infection.

What is the difference between Hep C and chronic hep C?

If you have the hepatitis C virus in your blood for anywhere from a few weeks to a few months, you have “acute” hep C. After 6 months, it’s called “chronic.” Without diagnosis and treatment, chronic hep C can remain for many years and lead to serious symptoms like liver damage.

What is hepatitis pathophysiology?

Viruses enter the blood stream and spread to the liver. They infect the hepatocytes and multiply. They change the antigen structure on the virus site. The body begins to use self-mediated immune response attempting to damage the hepatocytes. In Hep B and C, they can continue this process over and over for years.

What are the symptoms of chronic hepatitis?

Symptoms of Chronic Hepatitis

  • An enlarged spleen.
  • Small spiderlike blood vessels visible in the skin (called spider angiomas)
  • Redness of the palms.
  • Accumulation of fluid within the abdomen (ascites )
  • A tendency to bleed (coagulopathy)
  • Jaundice.
  • Deterioration of brain function (hepatic encephalopathy )

Which hepatitis is chronic hepatitis?

Hepatitis C can range from a mild illness, lasting a few weeks, to a serious, life-long (chronic) infection. Most people who get infected with the hepatitis C virus develop chronic hepatitis C. Hepatitis A can last from a few weeks to several months.

What happens after hep C is cured?

Here’s an amazing fact: Once you’re cured of Hepatitis C, liver damage stops. And over time (different for everyone, but possibly five years or more), your liver can heal itself through regeneration. That’s right, the thing grows back!

What are the 5 types of hepatitis?

There are 5 main hepatitis viruses, referred to as types A, B, C, D and E. These 5 types are of greatest concern because of the burden of illness and death they cause and the potential for outbreaks and epidemic spread.

What bacteria causes viral hepatitis?

In the United States, viral hepatitis is most commonly caused by hepatitis A virus (HAV), hepatitis B virus (HBV), and hepatitis C virus (HCV). These three viruses can all result in acute disease with symptoms of nausea, abdominal pain, fatigue, malaise, and jaundice.