Helpful tips

Who needs kyu?

Who needs kyu?

Kentucky Permit (KYU#) Kentucky’s Highway Use Tax (KYU) is a weight-distance tax, based on mileage traveled by motor vehicles through Kentucky. You need a KYU license if your vehicle travels through Kentucky and has a gross weight of 60,000 pounds or more.

Do I need a kyu permit?

If you travel through the state of Kentucky, in a commercial vehicle (private and/or for-hire), with a registered GVWR of 60,000 lbs or more, you will need a KYU # or you will need to buy a temporary KYU permit.

What is weight-distance tax?

New Mexico imposes a weight-distance tax on owners, operators, and registrants of intra and interstate commercial vehicles with a declared gross vehicle weight in excess of 26,000 pounds. This tax is based on vehicle weight and miles traveled on New Mexico roads.

Do you have to renew kyu?

Once I have the KYU number, what do I need to do? Once you have the number issued, you will need to file your KYU quarterly taxes in a timely manner to keep your license in good standing. The quarterly reports are due the last day of the month following the end of the quarter.

Do I need a different dot number for each truck?

A U.S. DOT number may be required regardless of whether you own only one truck or 100. Likely, if you operate a truck that weighs 10,001 pounds or more for any type of business, you probably need one. First, however, a caution: Regulations and laws change frequently, and each state is different.

Do I need a KY DOT number?

A US DOT # is not required. If For-Hire Carrier, you will need KY Intrastate For-Hire License. If For-Hire Carrier, you will need KY Intrastate For-Hire License.

How much is a kyu?

What is Kentucky Weight Distance (KYU)? KYU is a tax license issued for all carriers traveling on Kentucky roadways with a combined license weight greater than 59,999 pounds. The tax rate is $0.0285 cents per mile.

What states have a weight distance tax?

There are a handful of states — Kentucky, Oregon, New Mexico and New York — that assess carriers with a “weight-distance” tax. These state-specific weight-distance taxes are in addition to the heavy vehicle use tax (HVUT), IFTA, and IRP.

Which states have a weight distance tax?

What states require mileage permits?

*California, Nevada, New Mexico and Arizona have the additional qualifying criteria for which a trip permit is required: Arizonia: All for hire carriers operating a vehicle with 2 or more axles (regardless of weight). New York, Kentucky, Oregon & New Mexico also require mileage permits.

Do you have to renew your dot number?

Trucking companies and contractors are required to have a Department of Transportation (DOT) number affixed to the sides of their trucks. Every two years, or biennially, the information associated with this number must be updated. That’s done by filing an updated MCS-150 form.

Who is exempt from DOT number?

to transport passengers or property when the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating, gross vehicle weight or gross combination weight, of 10,001 pounds or more, whichever is greater; or. to transport more than eight passengers, including the driver, for compensation; or.