What are the Marine Corps general orders?

What are the Marine Corps general orders?

Marine Corps General Orders

  • Take charge of this post and all government property in view.
  • Walk my post in a military manner, keeping always on the alert and observing everything that takes place within sight or hearing.
  • Report all violations of orders I am instructed to enforce.

How many Marine general orders are there?

11 general order
While the general orders apply to all the armed forces of the U.S. military, only the Navy, Coast Guard and Marine Corps use the 11 general order version. The U.S. Army and Air Force use three general orders, although these are a condensed form of the rules found in other services.

What does it mean to salute all colors not cased?

10. To salute all officers and all colors and standards not cased. 11. To be especially watchful at night, and during the time for challenging, to challenge all persons on or near my post, and to allow no one to pass without proper authority.

What is the meaning of to talk to no one except in the line of duty?

“To talk to no one except in the line of duty.” When a sentry is asked a questions, he answers briefly and courteously. You will allow no one to remain on your post to carry on a conversation except those members of the guard conducting inspections.

What does the 7th general order mean?

To receive, obey and pass on to the sentry who relieves me all orders from the commanding officer, officer of the day, and officers and noncommissioned officers of the guard only. General Order 7. To talk to no one except in the line of duty.

What is the 11 general order of a security guard?

1. To take charge of the post and all company properties in view and protect/preserve the same with utmost diligence. 2. To walk in an alert manner during my tour of duty and observe everything within sight or hearing.

What is the 11 Go of security guard?

What is the order of rank in the Marines?


  • E-1, Private, Pvt.
  • E-2, Private First Class, PFC.
  • E-3, Lance Corporal, LCpl.
  • E-4, Corporal, Cpl.
  • E-5, Sergeant, Sgt.
  • E-6, Staff Sergeant, SSgt.
  • E-7, Gunnery Sergeant, GySgt.
  • E-8. Master Sergeant, MSgt. First Sergeant, 1Sgt.

What does the 4th general order mean?

repeat all calls from posts
General Order 4. To repeat all calls from posts more distant from the guardhouse than my own. General Order 5. To quit my post only when properly relieved.

Do not salute an officer if doing so?

During the time of challenging, you don’t salute an officer until the officer has advanced and has been duly recognized. You don’t salute if to do so will interfere with the proper execution of your specific duties.

What is the first and second general order?

The U.S. Army has a list of three general orders it encourages its recruits to memorize: 1st General Order: “I will guard everything within the limits of my post and quit my post only when properly relieved.” 2nd General Order: “I will obey my special orders and perform all of my duties in a military manner.”

What is the meaning of RA 5487?


What are the different ranks in the USMC?

Junior enlisted

  • Noncommissioned officers
  • Staff noncommissioned officers
  • Sergeant major of the Marine Corps
  • Warrant officers
  • Officers
  • What is the Order of rank in the US Marine Corps?

    Marine Corps Ranks: Generals Brigadier General (BGen) (O7) Major General (MajGen) (O8) Lieutenant General (LtGen) (O9) General (Gen) (O10)

    What is the highest enlisted Marine Corps rank?

    Sergeant Major Of The Marine Corps Marine Corps Military Ranks . Sergeant Major is the highest enlisted rank in the Marine Corps, and is equivalent in paygrade (but not in responsibility) to Master Gunnery Sergeant .