What are the Nav Tattvas?

What are the Nav Tattvas?

They are: 1) Jiva (soul) 2) Ajiva (non-living matter) 3) Punya (results of good deeds) 4) Pap (results of bad deeds) 5) Asrava (influx of karmas) 6) Samvar (stoppage of karmas) 7) Bandh (bondage of karmas) 8) Nirjara (eradication of karmas) 9) Moksha (liberation) Now, let us use a simple analogy to illustrate these …

What are the 3 jewels of Jainism?

This article looks at The Three Jewels of Jainism: right faith, right knowledge and right conduct.

How many tattvas are there in Jainism?

Nine Tattvas
The nine tattvas, or principles, are the single most important subject of Jain philosophy. It deals with the karma theory of Jainism, which provides the basis for the path of liberation. Without the proper knowledge of this subject, a person can not progress spiritually.

What are the Nine Truths of Jainism?

Following are the nine truths of Jainism:

  • Jiva (living things)
  • Ajiva (non-living things)
  • Punya (results of good deeds)
  • Pap (Sins)
  • Ashrav (good deeds)
  • Sanvar (hindrances in the way of karma)
  • Bandha (bondage)
  • Nirjara (destruction of karmas)

What are the 8 types of karma?

There are 8 different types of Karmas :

  • Knowledge-obscuring (Gyanavaraniya) Karma:
  • Perception-obscuring (Darshanavarniya) Karma:
  • Feeling-producing (Vedaniya) Karma:
  • Deluding (Mohaneeya) Karma:
  • Life-span-determining (Ayu) Karma:
  • Physique-determining (Nam) Karma:
  • Status-determining (Gotra) Karma:

What are the 5 vows of Jainism?

Emerging from these three jewels and relating to right conduct are the five abstinences, which are the vows of:

  • Ahimsa (non-violence)
  • Satya (truthfulness)
  • Asteya (not stealing)
  • Aparigraha (non-acquisition)
  • Brahmacarya (chaste living)

Are Jains high caste?

Jain castes are excellent examples of the middle-range castes that have always created intractable problems for theories of caste.

What is the holy book of Jains?

Agam Sutras
Lord Mahavir’s preaching was methodically compiled by his immediate disciples known as Gandharas, and elder monks known as Srut-kevalis into many texts known as Sutras. These Sutras are collectively known as Agams or Agam Sutras, the sacred books of the Jain religion.

Which is the holy book of Jainism?

Which is the most important tattva in Jainism?

Jiv, Ajiv, Punya, Päp, Äsrava, Bandha, Samvar, Nirjarä and Moksha are the nine fundamentals or Nav Tattva. The nine tattvas or principles are the single most important subjects of Jain philosophy.

How many tattva are there in Jainism axiom?

Seven tattva are same as above but 2 more tattva are there namely :- 8. Punya (alms-deed) – Which purifies our soul and provide happiness to others . 9. Paap (sinful acts) – which impurifies our soul. The first two are the two ontological categories of the soul jīva and the non-soul ajīva, namely the axiom that they exist.

What are the seven fundamental principles of Jainism?

Fundamental elements in Jainism. Jain philosophy explains that seven tattva (truths or fundamental principles) constitute reality. These are: — āsrava (influx)- inflow of auspicious and evil karmic matter into the soul. bandha (bondage)- mutual intermingling of the soul and karmas.

Which is the lifeless, inert matter of Jainism?

The lifeless, inert matter is called Ajiva. It is the object in relation to the individual soul or the Jiva, which is the subject. Ajiva is also substance (dravya), like other tattvas, which is subject to qualities and modifications. It is found in two basic modes, with form (rupa) and without form (arupa).