What does Level 6 lymph nodes mean?

What does Level 6 lymph nodes mean?

This refers to lymph nodes of the anterior, or central, compartment of the neck. Defined by the carotid arteries laterally, the hyoid bone superiorly, and the suprasternal notch inferiorly, it is rich in lymphatics that drain the thyroid gland, subglottic larynx, cervical trachea, hypopharynx, and cervical esophagus.

How many levels of lymph nodes are in the neck?

Lymph nodes in the neck are grouped into levels I-V, corresponding with the submandibular and submental nodes (level I); upper, middle, and lower jugular nodes (levels II, III, IV); and posterior triangle nodes (level V). Refer to the following image. The 6 levels of the neck with sublevels.

Where are Level 7 lymph nodes located?

anterior superior mediastinum
Level VII lymph nodes are defined as lymph nodes in the anterior superior mediastinum and the tracheoesophageal grooves, extending from the suprasternal notch to the innominate artery [10].

What are the 5 lymph nodes?

The lymph nodes contained within level 5 of the neck include the supraclavicular nodes [4]. It is known that occipital and mastoid, lateral neck, scalp, nasal pharyngeal regions drain to level 5 nodes. Large level 5 nodes may contain metastases from nasopharyngeal and thyroid primary malignancies [4].

What does Level 4 lymph node mean?

Lower Jugular Group
Level IV: Lower Jugular Group. This group consists of lymph nodes located around the lower third of the internal jugular vein extending from the inferior border of the cricoid (above) to the clavicle (below).

What is Level 3 lymph node of the neck?

Level III nodes are located between the hyoid superiorly and a horizontal plane defined by the inferior border of the cricoid cartilage. The sternohyoid muscle marks the anterior limit of level III, and the posterior border of the sternocleidomastoid muscle is the posterior border.

What are the lymph node levels of the neck?

The lymph node levels of the neck (Robbins) is the most often employed and was published in 1991 by the American Head and Neck Society and the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. The system was revised in 2002 and 2008.

Where are the V nodes located in the neck?

VA (Upper level V node)s extend from the skull base to the level of the bottom of the cricoid arch. VB (Lower level V nodes) extend from the level of the bottom of the cricoid arch to the level of the clavicle, as seen on each axial scan.

What are the different levels of the neck?

The neck is divided into 6 areas called Levels. The levels are identified by Roman numeral, increasing towards the chest. Level I: Submental and submandibular nodes. Level Ia: Submental triangle. Level Ib: Submandibular triangle.

What is the anatomy of the level VI group of lymph nodes?

Gavilan C, Gavilan J. Five-year results of functional neck dissection for cancer of the larynx. Arch Otolaryngol Head Neck Surg. 1989 Oct. 115 (10):1193-6.